"I've seen the rogue discs and the damage done, something that shouldn't happen to anyone" But it does. Few rules divide people playing crokinole as much as the 'damage rule'. So, do you just shrug and play on, or do you try to set things to rights? Or do you go half measures and just return a disc that the revenant rogue knocks off the board or pops into the '20' hole? Okay, 'house rules' we can all agree on, but what if the delinquent disc hits another disc in motion? How likely is that to happen? Lots! Watch the following and see... then you decide.

Rating:
  • Currently 4/5 stars.

Views: 116

Location: Toronto Ontario

Comment

You need to be a member of National Crokinole Association (NCA) to add comments!

Join National Crokinole Association (NCA)

Comment by Coe Miltenburg on June 13, 2010 at 3:23pm
thats brian cooks board.
Comment by Eric Miltenburg on April 26, 2009 at 9:27am
I agree with you George, as long as it's not seriously affecting play, as in knocking a piece off the board or into the 20 then just let the game proceed. However, I have another idea, what would you think of this as working the rule to fit the situation. If you are just playing the game say at:
1) a party or casually among friends - all damage stays and everyone has a good laugh about it.
2) in club play where you are playing for points but are your own refs - getting knocked off the board or into the 20 gets repaired, the rest stays as is.
3) in tournament, with officials on hand to observe and referee - all damage from a returning disc is repaired.
I think this conforms more or less to the way some people play now anyway in clubs and at Tavistock according to the WCC rules. It just hasn't been agreed to formally.
Of course this 'discs in motion' wrinkle makes interpretation more speculative and now we are getting into 'reviewable by video playback' . Do you detect the 'distinct kicking motion' that puts the red disc back from the 5 circle into the 10? Hmmmm ;^)
Comment by George Clifford on April 20, 2009 at 12:51pm
I would suggest that in this case because the black disc left the playing surface and returned but did not cause a red disc to leave in the rebound that the right call was made to leave all the pieces where there were. I would have an issue if the returning black disc knocked a red disc off.

© 2019   Created by NCA Admin.   Powered by

Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service