2016 World Crokinole Championship Fantasy Pool

Back by popular demand, the WCC Fantasy Pool has returned for another round of wild speculation, bold prediction and seething crokinole players looking to destroy you after you left them off your list.

The 2015 Fantasy Pool victor was Clare Kuepfer, with co-2nd-place finishers of Fred Slater and Jon Conrad. Their prediction prowess proved preferable, but it is time to challenge those assertions, start your player analysis, and submit your Fantasy team once again.

The rules are simple (and the same as last year): 

1. Pick the best 8 player team consisting of:

        2 players from Group A

        2 players from Group B

        2 players from Group C

        and 2 players from Group D.

2. The higher up your players finish, the more points your team earns.

3. Whoever has the team with the most points will win the coveted title of Crokinole Fantasy Champion, and bragging rights until their title is challenged next year.

NOTE: Fantasy Pool results are limited to the Competitive Singles category.

The separation into 4 different groups is designed to spread out the talent, so a winning team will require a strong showing from many different players, who outperform their expectations.

Last year a ranking system was used to divide up the four groups, but due to some flaws in the rankings it was clearly far from perfect. This year, the groups are divided on a more simplistic basis where Group A consists tournament winners in the past year, Group B are top 16 finishers from the 2015 WCC, and Group C are top 40 finishers from the 2015 WCC. Group D consists of any players not listed in any of the previous groups.

Group A

Group B

Group C

Group D

Justin Slater

Robert Bonnett

Rueben Jong

Ron Haymes

Ray Beierling

Matt Brown

Howard Martin

Ray Haymes

Brian Cook

Ezra Jantzi

John Powers

Eric Miltenburg

Jon Conrad

Wilfred Smith

Robert E Mader

Beverley Vaillancourt

Tony Snyder

Rob C Mader

Clare Kuepfer

Kathy Geris

Jason Beierling

Nathan Walsh

Merv Wice

Cathy Kuepfer

Roy Campbell 

Rex Johnston

Andrew Whitfield

Chris Gorsline


John Harvey

Lawson Lea

Peter Tarle


Raymond Kappes

Kevin Brooks

David Younker


Gregory Pinel

Tomes Mazzoni

Demian Johnston


Tom Johnston

John Lichty

Dale Henry


Ewen MacPhail

Jason Hogan

Ron Reesor


Roger Vaillancourt

Randy Harris

Barry Kiggins


Brian Simpson

Michael Renaud

Bob Mader



Ab Leitch

Darryl MacDonald



Alex Protas

Peter Carter



Kevin Bechtel




Fred Slater




Dave Brown


NOTE: For Group D, you are allowed to select anyone not listed in Groups A, B or C. The players listed here are simply a small collection of notable players eligible to be selected.

Points will be awarded as follows:

1st - 100

2nd - 90

3rd - 85

4th - 80

5th-8th - 70

9th-12th - 65

13th-16th - 60

17th-20th - 50

21st-25th - 45

26th-30th - 40

31st-35th - 35

36th-40th - 30

41st-45th - 25

46th-50th - 20

51st-60th - 15

61st-70th - 10

>71st - 5

To solve the issue of not knowing who is attending the event, there will be printouts provided at the tournament to set your Fantasy team at the last minute. Entries will be accepted on paper in Tavistock, or in the comments of this post or on http://crokinolecentre.blogspot.ca/. (Whichever is submitted last will be regarded as the selected team.)

Entries will be accepted until 1:30pm EST on June 4th, 2016. 

That being said, feel free to comment below on your strategy and current picks to get a discussion rolling.

Good luck and have fun!

Views: 153


You need to be a member of National Crokinole Association (NCA) to add comments!

Join National Crokinole Association (NCA)

Comment by Matt Brown on June 3, 2016 at 6:22am

My picks:

Justin S. & Ray B

Nathan W. & Tom J.

Ab L. & Howard M.

Peter T. & Ray Haymes.

Comment by Fred Slater on June 1, 2016 at 10:36am

My picks are: Justin S., Ray B., Nathan, Matt B., Ab L., Fred S., Ron H., Ray H.

Brian Cook has informed me that he is not playing so adjust your picks accordingly.

Fred Slater

Comment by Nathan Walsh on May 30, 2016 at 11:38am

Only 5 days to go! Here's my initial picks (I feel like I'm going to make changes right until the last second.)

Brian Cook, Ray Beierling

Matt Brown, Wilfred Smith

Tomes Mazzoni, Clare Kuepfer

Ray Haymes, Ron Haymes

Comment by Clare Kuepfer on May 27, 2016 at 4:44pm

Ray Beierling, Roy Campbell

Nathan Walsh, Gregory Pinel

Reuben Jong,  Dave Brown

Cathy Kuepfer,  Bev. Vaillancourt

Thought it was time to add some ladies !!

Comment by Jason Beierling on May 23, 2016 at 5:12pm

Justin Slater, Roy Campbell, Nathan Walsh, Rex Johnston, Ab Leitch, Fred Slater, Ray Haymes, Beverley Vaillancourt

Comment by Andrew Hutchinson on May 21, 2016 at 5:54pm

Justin Slater, Ray Beierling

Nathan Walsh, Tom Johnston

Ab Leitch, Clare Kuepfer

Ron Haymes, Eric Miltenburg

Now, don't let me down...

Comment by Nathan Walsh on May 21, 2016 at 5:43pm

Just had to make a significant edit, and I'd like to thank Howard Martin for being able to find the error so quickly.

I accidentally left Roy Campbell off of the list. As he won the Owen Sound title, he's slotted in Group A.

Sorry Howard. For your vigilance, your reward is, unfortunately, having to edit your team listing.

Comment by Howard Martin on May 21, 2016 at 5:35pm

It is not easy to pick winners from such a powerhouse of players.I don't want to offend anyone I have omitted,especially myself...LOL                 

My selected team consist of-- Justin Slater, Jon Conrad, Matt Brown, Rex Johnston, Fred Slater, Clare Kuepfer, Ron Haymes, Roy Campbell.

© 2020   Created by NCA Admin.   Powered by

Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service