2015 World Crokinole Championship Fantasy Pool

With under 2 weeks to go until the World Championships you may only want to focus on preparing your game for the world’s best. But have you taken time to think about how the day will shape up? Who’s going to come out of nowhere? Who’s going to falter? And most importantly, who’s going to win the 17th World Championship?

Do you want to finally prove once and for all your prediction prowess? Are you afraid that your prognostications will go unheard despite being astonishingly accurate?

Well why not take your hand at picking a team for the first ever Crokinole Fantasy Pool?

The rules are simple: 

1. Pick the best 8 player team consisting of 2 players from Group A, 2 players from Group B, 2 from Group C, and 2 from Group D.

2. The higher up your players finish, the more points your team earns.

3. Whoever has the team with the most points will win the coveted title of Crokinole Fantasy Champion, and bragging rights until their title is challenged next year.

The separation into 4 different groups is designed to spread out the talent, so the winning team will require a strong showing from many different players, who outperform their expectations.

I initially thought about drafting the groups subjectively by my own choosing, but then thought it should probably have some objective basis. As such, the groups are determined based on the current CrokinoleCentre Rankings.

Group A

Group B

Group C

Group D

(The top 6 CrokinoleCentre Ranked players.)

(Rankings from 7-20)

(Rankings from 21-40)

You may pick any player not listed in Groups A, B, or C.

Justin Slater

Jason Beierling

Ron Reesor

Brian Henry

Ray Beierling

Matt Brown

Brian Simpson

Kyle Vaillancourt

Nathan Walsh

Roy Campbell

Reuben Jong

Rob Mader

Fred Slater

Tom Johnston

Ab Leitch

Ed Ripley

Brian Cook

Clare Kuepfer

Alex Protas

Barry Kiggins

Jon Conrad

Eric Miltenburg

Chris Gorsline

Ralph Hargrave

John Harvey

Dale Henry

Abijah Jong

Dave Brown

Tony Snyder

Kevin Bechtel

Rex Johnston

Peter Carter

Raymond Kappes

Howard Martin

Cathy Kuepfer

Bob Mader

Robert Bonnett

Paul Brubacher

Jeremy Gunn

Roger Vaillancourt

Gloria Walsh

Beverly Vaillancourt

Peter Tarle

Ray Haymes

John Lichty

Louis Gauthier

Jody Good

Kevin Brooks

Nathan Jongsma

Bob Jones

Linda Irvine

Curt Currie

Quin Erzinger

Ewen MacPhail

Ron Haymes

Richard Guptill

Adrian Conradi

Daryl MacDonald

Michael Hughes

David Younker

Note: For Group D the players listed above are ranked 41 to 60, but you are also permitted to pick any player not included in any of the other groups.

This is where a little inside information can make the difference. If you know of a real ringer coming in, or you want to take a chance, then select that player for your team.

As an example team, for the 2014 World Championships, the ideal team would have included

Group A - Brian Cook (1st) and Justin Slater (2nd)

Group B - Matt Brown (4th) and John Harvey (7th)

Group C - Ray Haymes (13th) and Tony Snyder (15th)

Group D - Ezra Yantzi (10th) and Kevin Bechtel (14th)

This would have met all conditions for player choices (2 from each group) and put all 8 players in the top 15. Notice the choice of Ezra Jantzi would have been an “off the board” pick as he is not listed in Group D.

Points will be awarded to each member of a team as follows:

1st - 100

2nd - 90

3rd - 85

4th - 80

5th-8th - 70

9th-12th - 65

13th-16th - 60

17th-20th - 50

21st-25th - 45

26th-30th - 40

31st-35th - 35

36th-40th - 30

41st-45th - 25

46th-50th - 20

51st-60th - 15

61st-70th - 10

>71st - 5

The ideal 2014 team would have earned:

100 (Cook) + 90 (Slater) + 80 (Brown) + 70 (Harvey) + 65 (Yantzi) + 60 (Haymes) + 60 (Bechtel) + 60 (Snyder) = 585 points

Enter your team roster with a comment below. Entries will be accepted until 1:30pm EST on June 6th, 2015.

Entries can be made in the comments of the NING Website, or on CrokinoleCentre.

Good luck and have fun!

Views: 338


You need to be a member of National Crokinole Association (NCA) to add comments!

Join National Crokinole Association (NCA)

Comment by nathan jongsma on June 5, 2015 at 8:31pm

ray beierling, nathan walsh, jason beierling, louis gauthier, nathan jongsma, ron haymes, kent robinson, ray haymes................yes i voted for myself!!!!!!!!!!

Comment by Nathan Walsh on June 5, 2015 at 6:39pm

Revision of my own: R. Beierling, J. Conrad, C. Kuepfer, T. Johnston, A. Leitch, Ron Haymes, K. Bechtel, K. Brooks

Comment by Fred Slater on June 5, 2015 at 12:50pm

Justin Slater, Ray Bierling, Matt Brown, Tom Johnston, Ab Leitch, Ron Hames, Ezra Yantzi, Kevin Bechtel

Comment by Jon Conrad on June 5, 2015 at 6:53am

Here we go again.......R. Beierling, N. Walsh, T. Johnston, R. Campbell, T. Snyder, P. Brubacher, B. Kiggins, R. Kappes

Comment by Clare Kuepfer on June 5, 2015 at 6:10am

Revised June 5:

Nathan Walsh, Justin Slater, Roy Campbell, Roger Vaillancourt, Reuben Jong, Paul Brubacher, Kevin Bechtel, Jerry Ward...............

Go team go !!

Comment by Nathan Walsh on June 3, 2015 at 10:24am

Interesting trends in team choice so far: no one has picked themselves, most are picking their doubles partners. I see no need to challenge that.

B. Cook, J. Conrad, C. Kuepfer, T. Johnston, A. Leitch, Ron Haymes, K. Bechtel, E. Yantzi

Similar to Ray I may make some lineup changes close to the deadline. It's an extra incentive to attend the Friday night social and scout out some dark-horses.

See some of you Friday, and all of you Saturday!

Comment by Ray on June 2, 2015 at 9:27pm

Here goes.  Jon Conrad, 2 time winner and 1st hand info whispered to me in St. Jacobs.  "I am making a come back"  Brian Cook, 4 titles.  J. Beierling, past winner.  T. Johnston, 2 top 4 appearances.  Ab Leitch, 2 top 4 appearances.  Ray Haymes, because he spanked me two years ago in the top 4.  Dwayne Campbell and Andew Whitfield.  Everyone loves virtually unknown dark horses.  If Andrew does not show, I will revise my pick before the deadline.... If I am allowed.  Bonus predictions:  J. Slater for the 20s Crown and Nathan Walsh/Clare Kuepfer for the Doubles.

Comment by Dave Brown on June 2, 2015 at 12:07pm

Here is my revised list based on selecting from the Adult Category:

J. Slater, B. Cook, M. Brown, R. Campbell, R. Reesor, A. Leitch, B. Kiggens, R. Mader

Lets go boys!

Comment by Clare Kuepfer on May 31, 2015 at 5:40am

Well here goes. Nathan Walsh, Justin Slater, Roy Campbell, Roger Vaillancourt, Reuben Jong, Paul Brubacher, Kevin Bechtel, John Lichty...............

Go team go !!

Comment by Joe Arnup on May 30, 2015 at 10:33am

Nice one, Nathan.   J. Slater, Cook, T. Johnson, J. Beirling, R Haymes (x2), Ray Kappes, Rob Mader.

I can't help but observe that Jason is betting on the competition, despite being at the top of his pool.  I think we might have a Pete Rose situation brewing. 

I'm hoping I can swing by to deliver some high fives.

© 2020   Created by NCA Admin.   Powered by

Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service